top of page
  • Writer's pictureObsidian Soft

My Journey as an Indie App Developer

Updated: May 10, 2020

I am a mom, a software engineer and an indie app developer. I started developing apps when my son was just 4 years old and I wanted to be productive while taking care of him. Programming had always been my passion so I decided to make mobile apps. It has been a roller coaster ride since then: exciting, hectic, invigorating but with ups and downs. I am always on the lookout for innovative ideas using technology to solve problems.



Phonics Fun was my first app. My son was learning Jolly Phonics and merging the phonics sounds to read words. I noticed that in worksheets and other resources, he used to guess the word by looking at the beginning sound instead of merging all phonics sounds to read. Hence, I thought of a phonics app where a child had to actually merge and read because a picture of a bed had three word choices: bug, bed, bit. All words started with the same letter ;). My son became an early reader because of innovation :-).



Multiplication Flash cards was my next app. My son had to learn his multiplication facts/times tables and I had always felt that flash cards were the way to go for learning multiplication facts. I had to prepare my child to answer his facts by dodging. I cut paper, made flash cards for him and saw him improve by leaps and bounds. I decided to make an app using the same concept that would be available for everyone. I made sure that my app covered the entire tables and not just bits and pieces of them as I had seen in other apps in the market. Moreover, I decided to be innovative. I added speech recognition to it. Children could now speak the answer instead of typing it in.



Over the years, I have made other apps but the ones closest to my heart are the ones mentioned above. I have made all my apps free and available for everyone so that education and innovation are not restricted to a select few. Please check out my apps, download them, use them and spread the word. Thank you.


8 views0 comments
bottom of page